Sign up to a newsletter

Young Critics Review Contest "VERSIONS OF QUALITY REVIEWS"

Registration: until April 4, 2018 at
Contest term: from April 15 to April 21, 2018
Announcement of the winners: April 30, 2018

The contest for young opera critics was first organized in 2011, during the 4th NOA festival. Back then, it attracted considerable interest: 23 participants prepared even 39 reviews for it. Upon approaching the 7th edition of NOA, we are inviting young critics to sharpen their pencils once again in writing about the works presented at the festival, and in discussing the state of contemporary opera in the context of the festival events.

The aim of the contest is to encourage young generation musicologists, theater researchers, art critics, cinema critics, or other specialists interested in the arts, to write about contemporary opera performances, and the changes in the genre and its concept.

Opera criticism demands an extremely wide-ranging look, especially in criticizing the performances of contemporary opera, which often step out of the traditional definition of the genre. As reflection is crucial for artists, we would like to encourage young critics to express their thoughts openly - and thus, contribute to the development of a new, courageous, broad-minded generation of critics. We hope that the voices of young critics will get louder and be heard more, so we will publish the reviews of this contest in the professional platforms for art critics.

Participant information:
• Age limit for participating is 30;
• The contest committee consists of: Vaidas Jauniškis, theater critic and former long-time editor of "Menų faktūra / Arts Factory" website; Lina Navickaitė-Martinelli, music critic and editor at "Lithuanian Music Link"; and Erika Drungytė, literary critic and editor of "Nemunas" culture and art magazine;
• Participants get the opportunity to attend all festival events by signing a commitment to submit at least one review to the contest organizers by the scheduled date;
• The reviews written by all the contestants are to be published in the cultural media; the winners of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes are to receive monetary awards, supported by the Saulius Karosas charity and support foundation.